Why I irrationally love San Francisco- Part 1

12Apr08

Image by Todd LappinWhen it comes to loving a city, its hard to find anyone more biased than me. Yeah, I flagrantly pump this city like nobodies business- and yes, my friends even have a scientifically created “correction” they apply to my recommedations to bring my enthusiastic recommendations down to reality. I love this freakin city- San Francisco is unlike any place I’ve ever been- and there’s been a lot of cities I love that i’ve been to.

So what makes it so attractive, alluring, exciting and intoxicating to me? Great questions- I still don’t know, but i’ll try and break it down. I’ve known I wanted to live here ever since I was six years old. My parents- always the super fans of slapping me and my bro into our boxie Volvo faded-red stationwagon and trucking us around the country- took us to San Francisco one trip. When we were walking through golden gate park, right by the tea garden- I announced that one day i’d live here. My parents laughed, but lo and behold, several years later, i’m happily living not too far away from that same space.

Location and physical beauty aside, what really makes the city to me are the people. I mean, SF attracts just about every type of person you can imagine- artists, business people, tech, government, people trying to make a difference- and dreamers too. And the city in itself is just about as diverse- and divided- as the European Union. The neighborhoods have their own unique feels to the, and where you live is almost like a statement on who you are. Everthing from the Marina peeps to the mission hipsters, there’s so much going on in the city, and so much to get distracted by too.

Which is another reason why i love it- the sheer amount of activities! One day you can be having a chill drink at a bar, the next going to a fire arts ballet- and the next, going dancing at some chic club. Its all here, I don’t think I can get enough of it. And in the end, that’s why I love it so much-the only limit to what you ca do seems to be time- and i’m still working on a way to get a few more hours added onto the day. 😉 I’m thinking of maybe posting a calendar with everything i’m thinking of doing or up to- beyond just my twitter blasts- but we’ll see how that works out 😉

Finally, to sum things up best- Oscar Wilde once said “It’s an odd thing, but anyone who disappears is said to be seen in San Francisco. It must be a delightful city and possess all the attractions of the next world” I couldn’t agree more.

2 Responses to “Why I irrationally love San Francisco- Part 1”

  1. Here at Nousha, we are an “international team” and we all agree to your saying.
    We could not dream of a better place to live ( and we all come from the most beautiful city on Earth…Paris, Istambul, Amsterdam, Teheran..) but yeah, there is this “je ne sais quoi about SF”.
    I am a city girl and I gotta say I love this crazy, weird mix between landscape and city. I just love it!

  2. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Lowermost
    .


Leave a Reply

